Aviation for Girls

2015

Aviation for Girls is a special annual member publication of Women in Aviation International for Girls in Aviation Day. Articles feature young girls living their aviation dreams, career ideas, and education resources.

Issue link: https://afgdigital.epubxp.com/i/742269

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 3 of 35

2 AVIATION FOR Girls 2015 Welcome to the frst issue of Aviation for Girls magazine. This publication has been a labor of love by the Women in Aviation Interna- tional (WAI) staff over the past several months as we set out to fnd ways to give girls and young women the best possible introduction and start in their personal aviation journey. Inside you will fnd inspiration among the stories of young women living their aviation dreams, and information to help guide you on your own fight path—on whatever heading that may be. We know there are so many ques- tions you'll have as you get started, and we hope inside you'll fnd answers to some of them as well as resources to help you fnd more. This magazine will debut at our frst ever International Girls in Aviation Day events around the world on September 26, 2015. Those events, each unique to the WAI chapter hosting them, were inspired by our successful Bring Your Daughter to the Conference Day during the annual International Wom- en in Aviation Conference. Organizers and participants en- joyed the program so much, we found a way to bring them a little closer to home for others. We look forward to helping this program grow in the coming years. Likewise, this magazine was created out of a demand we were seeing throughout the year at aviation events of par- ents looking for materials to inspire their daughters and feed their interest in the world of fight. We hope we have accom- plished just that, and have a long-term plan to continue our efforts to provide this kind of material for years to come. It is an exciting time to be a young woman in the feld of aviation. The doors are open, and the needs are great. Airlines are looking for qualifed pilots, manufacturers are looking for bright engineers, the feet demands talented mechanics, and companies need passionate individuals to keep it all running. You'll meet some amazing mentors in your local communi- ties to help you fnd your way, and WAI is here to help too. Don't hesitate to bring your questions to us at headquarters if you need a little help. Our staff and membership include women working and playing in all areas of aviation and we'd love to show you how you can get involved too. Sincerely, Dr. Peggy Chabrian President and Founder Membership and WAI Merchandise Sue Coon, Member Services Manager Stephanie Gordon, Member Specialist scoon@wai.org • sgordon@wai.org Chapters, Volunteers, Girls in Aviation Molly Martin, Outreach Director mmartin@wai.org • 850-508-8769 Scholarships Donna Wallace, Scholarship Coordinator/Conference Registration dwallace@wai.org C O N T A C T U S • P H O N E : 9 3 7 - 8 3 9 - 4 6 4 7 D R . P E G G Y C H A B R I A N Aviation for Girls Magazine Kelly Nelson Director of Communications knelson@wai.org • 920-410-6228 Photography Nancy Bink, Art Director nbink@wai.org Advertising Lisa DeFrees Lovett Advertising Director ldefrees@wai.org • 315-272-3821 Conference Kerisa Citro Director of Conferences and Events kcitro@wai.org Everything Else Connie Lawrence Operations Manager/Executive Assistant clawrence@wai.org Dr. Peggy Chabrian President and Founder pchabrian@wai.org P R E S I D E N T ' S M E S S A G E

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Aviation for Girls - 2015