Aviation for Girls

2016

Aviation for Girls is a special annual member publication of Women in Aviation International for Girls in Aviation Day. Articles feature young girls living their aviation dreams, career ideas, and education resources.

Issue link: https://afgdigital.epubxp.com/i/742227

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 3 of 35

2 AVIATION FOR Girls 2016 On behalf of Women in Aviation International (WAI), I want to welcome you to the world of aviation through this publication made with you in mind. We want to introduce you to a variety of ways you can be a part of this industry through learn- ing to fly or pursuing a career. The 2016 edition of Aviation for Girls will debut at Girls in Aviation Day events being held around the world on September 24, 2016. These events, each unique to the WAI chapter hosting them, were created to inspire you and provide the connections you might be looking for to help you get started in aviation. It is an exciting time to be a young woman in the field of aviation and aerospace. The doors are open and the needs are great. Airlines are looking for qualified pilots, manufac- turers are looking for bright engineers, airplane owners are looking for talented mechanics, and companies need pas- sionate individuals to keep it all running. Interested in being a writer, artist, accountant, lawyer, teacher, business owner, or programmer? You can do any of these jobs (and a whole lot more) within the aviation indus- try. Are you are worried about the costs of learning to fly or going to college? We can help you there too! WAI offers more than 100 scholarships each year, valued at over $600,000. Many other organizations also provide scholarship and in- ternship opportunities to help you reach your goals. To learn more about WAI be sure to visit our website at www.WAI.org. Most importantly, we're here to help. Don't hesitate to bring your questions to us at WAI headquarters or reach out to lo- cal WAI members if you need a little help. Beginning on Page 30 you'll find a list of contact information for more than 100 WAI chapters located around the world. The list grows every week though, so if you don't see a chapter in your area on those pages head to www.WAI.org to use our chapter search tool and see if a new group has been established in your area. Our staff and membership include women work- ing and playing in all areas of aviation, and we'd love to show you how you can get involved too. Sincerely, Dr. Peggy Chabrian President and Founder Membership, WAI Merchandise Sue Coon Member Services Manager scoon@wai.org Stephanie Gordon Member Specialist sgordon@wai.org Chapters, Volunteers, Girls in Aviation Day Molly Martin Outreach Director mmartin@wai.org • 850-508-8769 Education, Industry Relations Cassandra Bosco Education and Industry Relations Director cbosco@wai.org • 202-415-2798 C O N T A C T U S • P H O N E : 9 3 7 - 8 3 9 - 4 6 4 7 D R . P E G G Y C H A B R I A N Scholarships Donna Wallace, Scholarship Coordinator/Conference Registration dwallace@wai.org Aviation for Women Magazine Kelly Murphy Director of Communications kmurphy@wai.org • 703-716-0503 Advertising Lisa DeFrees Lovett Advertising Director ldefrees@wai.org • 315-272-3821 Photography Nancy Bink, Art Director nbink@wai.org Conference Kerisa Citro Director of Conferences and Events kcitro@wai.org Brooke Hartwig Conference and Events Assistant bhartwig@wai.org Everything Else Connie Lawrence Operations Manager/Executive Assistant clawrence@wai.org Dr. Peggy Chabrian President and Founder pchabrian@wai.org P R E S I D E N T ' S M E S S A G E

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Aviation for Girls - 2016