Aviation for Girls

2018

Aviation for Girls is a special annual member publication of Women in Aviation International for Girls in Aviation Day. Articles feature young girls living their aviation dreams, career ideas, and education resources.

Issue link: https://afgdigital.epubxp.com/i/1018241

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 3 of 39

It's an exciting time to learn about aviation and aerospace, especially if you're a girl! There are thousands of future aviators around the world reading this issue of Aviation for Girls during Girls in Aviation Day 2018. We hope the stories and resources in this issue are helpful and fun and inspire you to think about pursuing a career or a hobby in this amazing in- dustry full of science and technology. Women in Aviation Internation- al wants this magazine to be yours, so please send us your pictures and stories, and share your discover- ies all year round. When you make posts on social media please use #GIAD18, and feel free to contact me at kmurphy@wai.org. . Membership, WAI Merchandise Sue Coon New Member Services Manager scoon@wai.org Stephanie Gordon Renewal Services Manager Conference Registration sgordon@wai.org Aviation for Women Magazine Aviation for Girls Magazine Kelly Murphy Director of Communications kmurphy@wai.org • 703-967-8113 Education, Industry Relations Cassandra Bosco Education and Industry Relations Director cbosco@wai.org • 202-415-2798 Chapters, Volunteers, Girls in Aviation Day Molly Martin Outreach Director mmartin@wai.org • 850-508-8769 Christine Culver Chapter Relations Specialist cculver@wai.org Conference Kerisa Citro Director of Conferences and Events kcitro@wai.org Art and Photography Nancy Bink Senior Art Director nbink@wai.org Scholarships Donna Wallace Scholarship Coordinator/ Exhibitor Coordinator dwallace@wai.org Business Development Jennifer Saddler Thomas Business Development Manager jthomas@wai.org • 740-819-0471 Everything Else Connie Lawrence Operations Manager/ Executive Assistant clawrence@wai.org Dr. Peggy Chabrian President and CEO pchabrian@wai.org On behalf of Women in Aviation International (WAI), I welcome you to the world of aviation through this magazine made with you in mind. We want to introduce you to a variety of ways you can be a part of aviation through learning to fly or pursuing a career. This is our fourth edition of Aviation for Girls distributed at Girls in Aviation Day events being held around the world on Saturday, October 13, 2018. These events, each unique to the WAI chapter hosting them, were created to inspire you and provide the connections you might be looking for to help you get started in aviation. It is an exciting time to be a young woman in the field of aviation and space. The doors are open and the needs are great. Airlines are looking for qualified pilots, manufacturers are looking for bright engineers, airplane owners are looking for talented mechanics, and companies need passionate individuals to keep it all running. Interested in being a writer, artist, accountant, lawyer, teacher, business owner, or computer programmer? You can do any of these jobs (and a whole lot more) within the aviation industry. Are you worried about the costs of learning to fly or going to college? We can help you there too! WAI offers more than 100 scholarships each year, valued at over $600,000. Many other organizations also provide scholarship and internship opportunities to help you reach your goals. To learn more about WAI scholarships be sure to visit our website at www.WAI.org/education/scholarships. Most importantly, we're here to help. Don't hesitate to bring your questions to us at WAI headquarters or reach out to local WAI members if you need a little help. We have 120 chapters located in cities and towns around the world. There may be one close to where you live. To find out, visit our website at www.WAI.org/chapters. Our staff and membership include women working and playing in all areas of aviation, and we'd love to show you how you can be a part of it too. Sincerely, Dr. Peggy Chabrian President and Founder President's Message Dr. Peggy Chabrian Editor's Letter Kelly Murphy Believe You Can CONTACT US • PHONE: 937-839-4647 Save the Date for Next Year's GIRLS IN AVIATION DAY SATURDAY, OCTOBER 5, 2019! Welcome to Girls in Aviation Day 2018! 2018 Girls in Aviation Day attendees can receive a complimentary six-month digital WAI membership. Sign up at www.WAI.org/join/GIAD.cfm and use promo code GIAD18 by 12/31/18. 2

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Aviation for Girls - 2018